Eaten my first Cicada for this season!

Well friends, I am proud of myself!

I caught and have eaten my first Cicada for this summer season.

Mum, grumbled and said:

“Don’t swallow it! It will flutter in your tummy!”

I grabbed it and chewed a bit and SWALLOWED it.

I didn’t feel anything “fluttering” inside me!

It fluttered around before I squeezed it.

My mum did not have her camera with her to take some photos to show you.

Here are two photos taken way back in 2006 while my mum was visiting New Zealand.

This was also in February 2006.

Picture 013-2

Picture 012-2

Picture 036-2

These are only the skins.

My mum wanted to take them with her when she went back to South Africa but decided against it for in case the sniffer dogs could smell that she had some insects in her luggage!

Here is some more interesting information on the Cicada in NZ

http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/natural-sounds/11008/maoricicada-mangu

2 thoughts on “Eaten my first Cicada for this season!

Leave a Reply

